Monday, November 18, 2013

Have A Nice Life - Deathconciousness (2008)

Artist: Have A Nice Life
Album: Deathconciousness
Release: 2008
Label: Enemies List Home Recordings

Disc 1: The Plow That Broke The Plains
1. A Quick One Before The Eternal Worm Devours Connecticut
2. Bloodhail
3. The Big Gloom
4. Hunter
5. Telephony
6. Who Would Leave Their Sun Out In The Sun?
7. There Is No Food
Disc 2: The Future
1. Waiting For Black Metal Records To Come In The Mail
2. Holy Fucking Shit: 40,000
3. The Future
4. Deep, Deep
5. I Don't Love
6. Earthmover

I was introduced to Have A Nice Life by a friend who was sad and wasted lying on a hardwood floor. This is the only way one should be introduced to Have A Nice Life. This project's foray into industrial, shogaze depression is beautiful, melancholic, and isolating in the most comforting way. Sharing labels with the likes of Planning For Burial (a slowcore/shoegaze act you might know from Terminal Escape), a similar slowcore mood permeates Deathconciousness. In the same way that atmospheric black metal and slowcore can be both suffocating and cathartic, this release will have you consumed by your own thoughts, leaving you an empty husk with nothing left to do but appreciate the lush textures and lilting melodies that fill this fantastic double disk.


Monday, November 4, 2013

Sisters of Mercy - First and Last and Always (1985)/Floodland (1987)


Artist: Sisters of Mercy
Album: First and Last and Always
Release: (1985)
Label: Merciful Release

1. Black Planet
2. Walk Away
3. No Time To Cry
4. A Rock And A Hard Place
5. Marian (Version)
6. First And Last And Always
7. Possession
8. Nine While Nine
9. Logic
10. Some Kind Of Stranger

Artist: Sisters Of Mercy
Album: Floodland
Release: 1987
Label: Merciful Release

1. Dominion/Mother Russia
2. Flood I
3. Lucretia My Reflection
4. 1959
5. This Corrosion
6. Flood II
7. Driven Like The Snow
8. Never Land (A Fragment)

Dim candles, occult rites, red roses, blood filled chalices, ridiculous sunglasses: Sisters of Mercy.

Rivaling The Cure's self-pity and brooding, Sisters of Mercy are a pillar in the goth canon, and have stood as a high water mark for this particular brand of darkwave since the early 80s. Mind-blowing bass tone, deep crooning vocals, goth synth love, and expansive atmosphere make both of these LPs a must have for anyone who doesn't give a shit that the New York Times won't shut up about "goths" with pastel hair, and just wants to brood alone in the dark. Grab a bottle of blood red wine (at least one per person involved) and start with "Marian," you won't regret it.

Downloads in comments.

Monday, February 4, 2013

Natural Law - Slump 7" (2010)

Artist: Natural Law
Album: Slump 7"
Release: 2010
Label: Katorga/Deranged

1. Hand and Foot
2. Poor Taste
3. Slump
4. Persona
5. Acclimate

Another polarizing hardcore band due to hype (Katorga and Deranged will do that to a band). But at the end of the day, sometimes hype is warranted  and in the case of this Natural Law 7", that's definitely the case (so ignore the griping punks in the corner and listen to the internet). Buzz saw guitars, catchy riffs, drowning vocals, five and a half minutes of great hardcore, its all there, its all good, so check it out. Especially recommended if you liked that Cult Ritual LP.

Unfortunately this 7" is way too old to buy from the label.