Monday, November 18, 2013

Have A Nice Life - Deathconciousness (2008)

Artist: Have A Nice Life
Album: Deathconciousness
Release: 2008
Label: Enemies List Home Recordings

Disc 1: The Plow That Broke The Plains
1. A Quick One Before The Eternal Worm Devours Connecticut
2. Bloodhail
3. The Big Gloom
4. Hunter
5. Telephony
6. Who Would Leave Their Sun Out In The Sun?
7. There Is No Food
Disc 2: The Future
1. Waiting For Black Metal Records To Come In The Mail
2. Holy Fucking Shit: 40,000
3. The Future
4. Deep, Deep
5. I Don't Love
6. Earthmover

I was introduced to Have A Nice Life by a friend who was sad and wasted lying on a hardwood floor. This is the only way one should be introduced to Have A Nice Life. This project's foray into industrial, shogaze depression is beautiful, melancholic, and isolating in the most comforting way. Sharing labels with the likes of Planning For Burial (a slowcore/shoegaze act you might know from Terminal Escape), a similar slowcore mood permeates Deathconciousness. In the same way that atmospheric black metal and slowcore can be both suffocating and cathartic, this release will have you consumed by your own thoughts, leaving you an empty husk with nothing left to do but appreciate the lush textures and lilting melodies that fill this fantastic double disk.


No comments:

Post a Comment